CURRICULUM CHANGES UNDER QCF (Qualification and credit Frameworks)

Covering – VTCT,ITEC,Btec and City & Guilds qualifications

With extensive changes to vocational qualifications, students may be wondering how this will affect the awarding bodies that supply courses to accredited centres. VTCT students can be assured that in England, Wales and Northern Ireland the transition from National Qualification Framework (NQF) to the qualifications and credit framework(QCF) will be kept as simple as possible and in Scotland, the transfer to SCQF is underway. You may be aware of the QCF, which is a new way of recognising skills and qualifications. The QCF is part of an education reform to ensure the country’s knowledge and skills are in line with the rest of Europe. The aim of the QCF is to ensure that qualifcations are standardised and produced by awarding bodies that have expert knowledge, skills and experience in developing qualifications. it is anticipated the QCF will improve the standard and feasibility of qualifications for all learners. For learners the benefits include:

  • More flexible routes to gaining qualifications
  • learning at the pace that suits

Meaning that two students could reach the same full qualification but reach it in a different way. One student could do an NVQ, while another could do separate VRQs and achieve the same number of credits. Qualifications have always been made up of units. These can be awarded separately or can be gathered towards Certificates and Diplomas. The new qualifications are made up of UNITS which now are also awarded credits. Depending on the amount of credits you can achieve an AWARD, CERTIFICATE OR A DIPLOMA. Awards can also make up to Certificates and Diplomas. ALL the main awarding bodies work under the QCF. This means that all the qualifications now offered by them are standardised and require the same Curriculum components. Advantage to students:

  • you can now move from one awarding body to another with units covered

For example: Health and Safety, Anatomy, Physiology and Pathology and the Principals and Practice of Complementary therapies units. Before you would either have had to retake again with different awarding body or completed a bridging assignment to cover areas that varied.

  • Saving financially be not having to pay out again for the above sections
  • Each awarding body will be happy with your standard and what you have covered.

Complementary Health becoming regulated

Did you know that complementary healthcare now has its own regulatory body? The Complementary and Natural Healthcare Counci(CNHC) was established in 2008 and opened its register in Janaury 2009. CNHC is tasked with regulating the complementary healthcare sector in public interest. Although a voluntary body, it takes its place alongside the other health regulators to ensure standards of education and practise are establsihed, maintained and developed. it has a robust fitness to practise standards based on its Code of Conduct and Ethics. Who can register? Currently practitioners who meet the relevant standards are elgible to register in:

  • Aromatherapy
  • Alexander Technique
  • Bowen
  • Cranial Sacral
  • Massage
  • Nutritional therapy
  • Reflexology
  • Shiatsu
  • Sports and remedial
  • Yoga Therapy

Other disciplines will be eligible later this year. CNHC requirements for registration can be found on their website www.cnhc.org.uk Kate Ling, Head of European and Specialist Legislation at the Department of Health, confirmed that,

CNHC is the only volunatary regulatory body for complementary healthcare, which has official government backing. No other organisation has the same exacting criteria or focus on patient safety and quality across a range of therapies.The more people who register with the CNHC, the more it will be recognised as the only organisation which privdes the guarantees that members of the public are looking for.

Your VTCT qualification is accepted with CNHC